Book Reviews

ARC Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass

*Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with a review copy of this book!*

Release date: January 26, 2016

Goodreads synopsis:

A girl with a secret.
The boy of her dreams.
An Ocean between them.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of.

Falling in love with a human breaks the Ocean’s rules. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.

My thoughts:

This book was stunning. The premise was so interesting and I found the thought of the Ocean being this entity that eats people immensely fascinating. (By far my favorite aspect of the book) And the Oceans thoughts, wants and possessiveness all felt so natural and were really executed well.

Kahlen was such a wonderful character, and I really enjoyed being in her headspace. Actually, all of the characters were great. Everyone had a different background and unique personality.

Akinli was the sweetest guy EVER. I loved him from the first time he was introduced in the book. I wish we got to see more of him. Like really, he was barely present. He was thought about constantly though.

That epilogue was amazing. AMAZING!!!

My ONLY problem with this book was the time. It just didn’t feel “right”. There were time gaps that felt so unnecessary and then there were certain points that were lingered on a little too long. Also, the whole last quarter of the book felt SOOO rushed. Just in every way possible the timing irked me.

This was my first Kiera Cass book! And honestly I was not planning on picking it up. But I am SO glad that I did. I liked this a lot more than I ever thought I would. I  am now considering picking up Kiera’s Selection series!

All in all, a really gripping and fascinating story! I really, really wish there was more of Kahlen and Akinli’s story!

Rating: 4/5 stars!

IMG_0247

Leave a Reply

