Book Reviews

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

I have finally finished Passenger and let me just start by saying, THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! It’s now on my favorites shelf.

I didn’t really love this book at first. It took me awhile to get used to the writing style but around the 5o page mark, I really started to appreciate the way the book was written and I don’t think that the historical aspect in this book would have been brought across as well without the writing being so descriptive.

I really enjoyed the places we got to see within this book and how realistic these times and places were depicted. The characters were portrayed really well and were very realistic and I genuinely cared for them. I liked that the story was told from both Etta and Nicholas’s POV and unlike some books that are told from both the female and male leads perspectives, it was done well and it was never hard for me to differentiate between the two of them. Something that I have only seen done REALLY well in one other book (An Ember in the Ashes).

I found the time traveling really fascinating. The way that time travel works in this and the rules the travelers had to follow were really interesting and I liked that although we were dealing with a topic like time travel it never felt silly or too unfathomable.

Once I got to the 3oo page mark I was so engrossed in these characters and where the story was headed that I couldn’t put it down. I stayed up until about 3 AM this morning just because it was getting SO good and I couldn’t stand not knowing what happened within the remaining pages. I need the next book like NOW! With that ending and the things that were revealed, I can’t wait to see where this story is headed.

 

My favorite part: When Etta and Nicholas were in the Underground tunnel in London.

(And although I’ve said it before, this is the most beautiful book cover EVER!)

5/5 Stars

 

IMG_0264.JPG

 

Let me know what you thought of Passenger, what your favorite part was and what rating you gave this book!

 

 

19 thoughts on “Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

      1. Going into it, I was really excited about the premise but I wasn’t too optimistic. Just because it was really hyped and I heard that the writing was frustrating but it blew we away with it’s greatness. I have no complaints beyond the 50 page mark.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This book has been on my radar forever now. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it and it’s been difficult for me to get without buying it outright. The concept sounds similar to Outlander and the Ruby Red series (neither of which I’ve read, so I can’t say much about it), but I’m eager to get my hands on it and see what all the fuss is about! Haha. I don’t think I’ve read a time travel book yet, so the concept is something new to look forward to. (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope you pick it up! I’ve read Outlander but not the Ruby Red series. It’s only like Outlander in the sense that time travel is involved. But the worlds and stories are so different and unique that I wouldn’t compare them outside of that. I hope you give Outlander a try too, it’s another favorite of mine! It’s a very cool concept and it’s executed so beautifully in this book. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad that you finished. This is def on my pile to read for March it looks amazing the cover is def to die for and if the characters voiced are as strong as an Ember in the ashes then it’s def a worth while read. Thanks for the awesome review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

