That’s what HE said Thursday – 6/2/2016

CB_TWHST2

That’s what HE said Thursday is a bookish meme hosted by Chapter Break. To participate you just have to share a quote that one of your (many) book boyfriends said to his girl (who you wish you were). To learn more about this meme click here.


 

Today’s quote is coming from one of my favorite trilogies, The Infernal Devices. I’ve shared quotes from The Infernal Devices before but somehow I haven’t shared my favorite quote. But, today I am going to share it! This quote is the sweetest, most beautiful quote ever and every time I read it, my heart melts.

Jem said this to Tessa on page 430 of Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare:

“You speak of sacrifice, but it is not my sacrifice I offer. It is yours I ask of you,” he went on. “I can offer you my life, but it is a short life; I can offer you my heart, though I have no idea how many more beats if shall sustain. But I love you enough to hope that you will not care that I am being selfish in trying to make the rest of my life-whatever it’s length-happy, by spending it with you. I want to be married to you, Tessa. I want it more than I have ever wanted anything else in my life.” He looked up at her through the veil of silvery hair that fell over his eyes. “That is,” he said shyly, “if you love me, too.”


Follow me on Goodreads and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “That’s what HE said Thursday – 6/2/2016

Leave a Reply

