Book Reviews

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

Goodreads Synopsis

I picked this book up per a recommendation. I’m not really into classics at all. But, it was brought it to me. And when someone just brings you a book, just because they know you love books, you should really read the book.

This is actually the first classic that I have ever finished. A sad fact, I know. But honestly, I find them boring and overly pretentious and it really kills me to try and stay concentrated. So, it surprised me that while reading The Catcher in the Rye, I was actually engrossed.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to do an extensive review for this book, for many reasons. One of which being that I was a little nervous about reviewing a classic because well, there are a lot of varying opinions on classics. More so then when you read any other book because, when you read a classic, there are generations of feelings towards the text you’re reading.

But anyway.

Now, I’m going to stop going on about my unease towards classics and actually tell you what I thought about The Catcher in the Rye.

This review is going to have SPOILERS. So, if you have not read The Catcher in the Rye, and you do not wish to be spoiled, please go and read it and then come back.


I’d like to start by talking about the plot….kind of.

I honestly think that I was not smart enough to read this book. I know that makes absolutely no sense. But, I kept trying to figure this book out while reading. Like, what would happen for Holden to make a big revelation or change in some way or realize some big picture. But, the plot is in no way of any importance in this story. Not really. That’s why we have Holden describe everything to us. It’s more about the plot of his mind. Again, I know that doesn’t make sense. But, I’ve been sitting here, staring at the computer for awhile now, trying to figure out how to adequately describe what I’m trying to say and I just couldn’t figure it out. ANYWAY, the plot is just what happens in this 16 year old boys life over the course of a 2-3 days. And he really doesn’t change.

Now let’s talk about Holden a little bit. I’m very conflicted about my feelings for Holden. I liked him, but at the same time I hated him. I found him to be rude, nosy, annoying, hypocritical and incredibly pretentious. He had these little personality tics that really got to me. Like his overuse of saying “If you want to know the truth”, “I know it”, and “Boy”, just to name a few. But, at the same time, I think that these little spasmodic tendencies of his is why I really enjoyed the narration of this book. It added a certain prose.

I think this book captured the spirit of being a teenager perfectly. Because, teenagers are pretentious and they like to think that they know the “true” meaning to life and the world around them. They like to think that they are the only ones who notice everyone else’s tropes. And they they’re the only ones that see the stupidity of social ideologies and mannerisms.They’re incredibly hypocritical beings. JUST. LIKE. HOLDEN. And for all of those reasons, I could DEFINITELY relate to him.

Some quotes that I really loved:

“The mark of the immature man is that he wants to die nobly for a cause, while the mark of the mature man is that he wants to live humbly for one.”

“Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.”


Overall, this book was just SO interesting and honest.

I ended up really loving this book. It was a really great and engaging read. I seriously think that every teenager should pick it up sometime during their teenagerhood.

(I know it’s not a word. But, childhood is so…..)

My favorite part:

I honestly don’t know what I would classify as “my favorite part”. Holden’s habit of constantly straying off topic and never really dwelling on one thing really made it hard to differentiate between events for me.

Image result for 5 stars


So, those were all of my thoughts and feels towards The Catcher in the Rye!

Did you enjoy Holden’s narration? Did you find the plot clever or confusing? Or both? Did you relate to Holden? What was your favorite part?

Tell me all of your thoughts and feels down below!

Also, for anybody who really liked this, I would definitely recommend that you pick up The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.


Katie.jpg

Follow me!

Goodreads

Instagram

Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

    1. That’s exactly what I love about Holden. He points out all these things in life that he deems phony, and he’s so right, but he’s a hypocrite. I’m so glad my friend recommended it to me, because otherwise, I would have never read it. Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

