Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

23230

Goodreads synopsis

Before I get into the review, I would just like to say that I am REALLY sorry. I took a little bit of a hiatus for the past 2 almost 3 months and just kind of dropped off the face of the earth. I honestly think I was just in need of a break.

But I’m back now, and I’m hoping to jump right back into things.


I’ve actually been finished with this book for the last month or so and I just kept getting busy and pushing off doing a review.

This review is going to have SPOILERS. So, if you have not read Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List, and you do not wish to be spoiled, please go and read it and then come back.


And so, the review begins.

I really wanted to love this book. But I just didn’t.

 The pages dragged by and there wasn’t a lot of depth and I felt like the story wasn’t living up to its full potential. I hated the ending and it really affected how I felt about the good parts of the story because all I could focus on was the let down.

The story starts off with Naomi narrating and then we also see the story through the other characters eyes, (Ely, Bruce, Bruce the second, Robin, etc.). I liked that the story was told through all of the different characters. We got to see how the story and events pertained to everyone involved and not just Naomi/ Ely.

But, on the other hand, I also felt that is the main reason why there wasn’t a lot of depth. I felt like we just bounced around from place to place and character to character too much. I found it hard to keep up with everyone and follow the story. By the time I was getting into what was going on in one persons life and was getting interested and invested, the chapter would be over and then we were just jumping into someone else’s story.. I don’t know, I personally found it frustrating and I think it hindered the story more than it helped portray the message.

Before I read the last 30 pages or so, I was already not loving this book as much as I thought I would. I was getting annoyed and was just trying to hurry up and finish the book at that point. And then I read the ending and it really just made me feel a huge sense of disappointment towards the whole book.

So, lets talk about the ending. The story ended with Ely gaining courage and perspective in his relationship with Bruce, Naomi and Ely making up and Gabriel and Naomi with the promise of their attraction and interest going somewhere. Here are my problems: The story went from Naomi’s story to her becoming a secondary character and Ely becoming the main focus. Ely’s the one that had the big epiphany. Ely’s the one that ended up with the big happy ending. The fight between Naomi and Ely had been stretched through such a big part of the book and then, just like that it was magically solved. And then the story between Naomi and Gabriel was left unfinished. If Naomi had stayed the books main focus, then the relationship between Naomi and Gabriel wouldn’t have been left the way it was. Because of this, I don’t feel like Naomi really came to the same conclusion as Ely.

Side note: I’ve now watched the movie about three times and I LOVE IT. This was a rare case where I felt like the movie was way better than the book.


Overall, this book was a really easy, teen read. It let me down a lot and I wish the ending didn’t feel so unfinished. I was really excited to read this because of David Levithan. I’ve really loved what I’ve read from him up until this point and Boy Meets Boy is one of my favorite contemporary novels. But, I just really ended up not liking this that much.

My favorite part:

When Gabriel went through all the songs on the playlist he made for Naomi and explained his reasoning for picking each song.

Image result for 2 and a half stars out of five

(I rounded it up to three out of five stars on Goodreads)

(Goodreads REALLY needs to allow half stars. ^_^)


So those were all of my thoughts and feelings on Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List!

Tell me all of your thoughts and feels down below!


Katie.jpg

Follow me!

Goodreads

Instagram

Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

