Book Reviews

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

Image result for ivory and bone goodreads

Goodreads Synopsis

Ivory and Bone is the first book in this series of the same name. This was Julie Eshbaugh‘s debut novel in 2016 by HarperCollins. I’ve been wanting to read this one for awhile and it got pushed up on my TBR because I received an ARC of the second book in the series, Obsidian and Stars and well, you have to read the first book before you can read the second XD

This review is going to contain SPOILERS. So, if you have not read Ivory and Bone and do not wish to be spoiled, please do read it and come back so we can discuss together!

Let’s get to the review!


Image result for book review

This was a fantastic book. I wasn’t too sure about it when I first started reading and had to push myself through the first couple of chapters or so, but once it got going, I was hooked.

Julie Eshbaugh‘s writing is so beautiful and addicting. She really brought the world to life in my head.

I found the way of life in this book so interesting. It takes place in prehistoric times where the people hunt mammoths and live in clans. I found it fascinating to read and think about how they lived. I found their “religion” if you will, to be very interesting too.

I loved all the characters. They felt like real people and everyone was very unique and had their own important role in the story. There was also a lot of character development in this book, not only for our main character but for pretty much everyone in the story.

I really enjoyed Kol and his family. I like their family dynamic and interactions. I liked that though Kol was to be the next leader of the clan and the oldest son that he never was stuck up or acted entitled. He was a very courageous, calm, smart and already showed signs of a great leader.

Kol’s brothers were all very interesting as well and all possessed unique qualities. I never found it hard to distinguish them from each other because they were all so different. Which I really liked and appreciated because sometimes younger sibling end up being very similar and hard to tell who is who because their not given a lot of time or individualized characteristics. I loved all the characters names in this book too; they were all so unique and cool haha.

I really loved the relationship between Kol and Mya. Although the sole purpose of Mya’s family visiting Kol’s clan was to find a mate for Mya and Kol was of course the ideal choice, it never felt forced to be this great romance. When Mya’s character was introduced I was a little worried that we would have this really forced and fast relationship but I was very pleasantly surprised. Not only did she not like him, but their clans didn’t even try to force them to feel something or to forge an alliance through them which I really enjoyed. Which was another thing I liked about Kol’s family. I really liked Mya’s family and clan as well. Though they differed from Kol’s, they were still interesting and pleasant.

I found the clan “politics” to be quite cool too. Like what was considered rude or polite or too forward or out of custom etc. It was all very interesting. And all the clans we saw were different from each other with their own customs and rules. However, they were very similar too.

I really enjoyed Kol’s voice and personality. He was an amazing character and I’m glad that we saw the story through his eyes. I liked Mya’s character and found it refreshing that she was different from all the other girls and kind of played by her own rules. I hope that we get to see more of Pek in the future; I found him to be a very refreshing character and loved the relationship between him and Kol.

I hope that we get to read more about the world and way of living in the novels to come; it was probably what I enjoyed most about this book. I hope that we get to see the relationship between Kol and Mya move forward, however I don’t want to be rushed or move really fast either. And I would love to keep reading about Kol’s brothers and family moving forward with the series as well.

Now, let’s get onto what I didn’t like so much.

I hated the tense this book was written in. This was the thing I hated the most about this book. It was what took me awhile to get used to in the beginning and caused me to force myself through the first chapters. I didn’t like it at all. Past tense doesn’t usually bother me; it takes me a minute to be like “oh, alright” and get used to it and it’s fine. However, not only was this in past tense, but Kol was also telling the story to Mya. So, it would be like “That’s when I saw you”, etc. Which caused the flow to be quite choppy in my opinion. Especially in the beginning. I don’t know but I just didn’t really like it and felt that it was unnecessary. And considering that the story that Kol was telling to Mya ended before the end of the book and then kept going just made it even more unnecessary. I hope that she doesn’t do that in the upcoming books because it really bugged me. This would have been a five star book for me had she not written like that.

I also didn’t like Lo’s clan. They weren’t really introduced and were only there to cause conflict and bring Kol and Mya’s clans together. They were introduced very quickly and then the conflict that came with them arose very quickly and the resolution was very quick as well. We didn’t get to see a lot of them and then they were almost immediately out of  the story. The resolution between Mya and Lo wasn’t really this big thing, it just sort of happened. I just didn’t like how anything to do with her clan was executed. I feel like it could have been a lot smoother and could’ve been made to be really interesting and it wasn’t. I hope that the conflict in the future books doesn’t continue to be other clans because I think that it will become very tiring and repetitive very quickly.


Image result for my favorite part:

My favorite part was actually the very end of the book. I like how things were left. I was very satisfied with how things came to a close yet, I was also very excited to see where things would go from there. I liked that scene with Kol and Mya and thought that it was very well executed and it was very, very sweet.


Image result for quotes logo

My favorite quote was,

“It’s odd, I think, how the thing you love most in a person can also be the thing you sometimes wish you could change”


Image result for my rating

 

Image result for 4.5 out of 5 stars


I’m rounding it to four stars on Goodreads. I know I’ve said it a million times but I mean it, GOODREADS NEEDS TO ALLOW HALF STARS!

There were a couple of things that really aggravated me but overall it was a fantastic read.  I flew through it. Once I really got into it I couldn’t put it down. I loved the characters and the story and it was all so very interesting. The writing was gorgeous and so descriptive and visual. I can’t wait to see where this series goes!


And those were all the thoughts and feels on Ivory and Bone!

Do you think that this was a good start to a series? Did you like the writing style? Did you find the tense to be annoying or do you think it added to the story? Did you like the characters? Who was your favorite? What was your favorite part? Any quotes that really resonated with you? Are you looking forward to continuing on with the series?

Leave me a comment with all of your thoughts and feels!


Thank you so much for reading and I hope you keep visiting!!

Katie.jpg

Follow me!

Goodreads

Instagram

Bloglovin’

One thought on “Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

Leave a Reply

