Book Reviews

Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Image result for peaches jodi lynn anderson cover

Goodreads Synopsis

Peaches is the first book in the Peaches Trilogy by Jodi Lynn Anderson. I picked this book up primarily because of the author; I read Tiger Lily awhile back and absolutely loved it and I’ve been wanting to pick up the rest of Jodi Lynn Anderson’s books since then. I will say that although I didn’t love this nearly as much as Tiger Lily, it was still really great and I enjoyed it very much.

I read and reviewed Tiger Lily before I was reviewing here on my blog, but if you’d still like to know my thoughts on it, you can click HERE for my Goodreads review!


Image result for thoughtsThis book was so cute! And it was super light and an easy read and perfect for the summer and perfect for a readathon. I practically flew through it. It’s just a tad over 300 pages, so it’s not that much but a lot happens in those pages and I absolutely adored it. I loved our cast of characters and our setting. It set the scene and feel for the perfect summer read.

We follow three girls; Murphy, Leeda and Birdie. They’re all very different from each other and are on completely different paths. But, they all end up thrown together for a summer and each of them find something none of them really knew they were looking for. It was filled with love and friendship and it was so sweet.

It’s a great story and I loved seeing how everyone’s lives intersected and how all our characters grew. It was really interesting and really light-hearted and fun too.

I’m very excited to start the second book, The Secrets of Peaches after I finish with this review. And I can’t wait to get to the third book, Love and Peaches, after that!


This review is going to contain SPOILERS. So, if you have not read Peaches and do not wish to be spoiled, please go read it and then come back so we can discuss together!

Let’s begin the review!


Image result for book review

As I said above, this book was so cute and adorable. From the moment I started reading, I couldn’t bring myself to really put it down. It went by really quickly and held my interest the entire time.

I think my favorite character was by far Birdie. And, my least character was probably Leeda. Don’t get me wrong, I liked her and all but at times she was super annoying and bratty and well, whiny. Murphy was interesting and fun to read and I liked her story arc probably the most.

I didn’t really like the “Before” page. It felt really unnecessary and carried no real weight in the story. And then, later on in the story when that scene finally takes place I was like “Oh, I guess that’s why that was there in the beginning”. It didn’t need to be there at all.

I liked that we started off in Murphy’s POV. I loved the story of how she ended up at the Darlington Orchard. Her story was hilarious and had me laughing the whole time where has how Leeda ended up at the Orchard was pretty boring and Birdie well, lived there. Murphy was the fun and unpredictable aspect of the book and I really loved that.

Leeda was really uptight and for lack of a better word, prissy. As I said, I didn’t really like her. She annoyed me a lot. I liked seeing her through everyone else’s eyes but I didn’t like being in her POV.

However, I often felt myself feeling bad for Leeda. Her mom was absolutely terrible. She never wanted her. Never looked at her. Didn’t care about her at all. She was awful. I kept thinking that maybe there would be a moment where she actually had a little bit of a redemption moment like her sister, Danay did, and it just never happened. I really hated her. And I cheered Murphy on the entire time she told her off and wished that Rex hadn’t made her stop.

Birdie was fantastic. I loved her so much. She was this shy, hard working, good girl and she learned how to live life of the wild side a little bit and how to not let life pass her by. She learned how to have a voice and say what she felt and have a say in her life. She’s the reason the Orchard made it through the frost and why her dad refused to sell in the end. And I think Murphy said it best when she called her a powder keg. There was no stopping that girl once she set on something. She was a fantastic character and I really came to love her and I’m so glad everything fell into place for her in the end.

I love how we had these little snippet pages to show us glimpses of the past. It was really cool and interesting to see when their moms realized they were pregnant with them and to get some more back story on them considering we didn’t see them all the much. And, to see some more of the history of the Darlington family Orchard.

I honestly didn’t like any of their mothers. They were all horrible in my opinion. Granted we didn’t really see them, but still. They weren’t great and our main characters didn’t really like them either.

I loved that these three girls learned so much about themselves and each other and became such amazing friends in the end.

I love that Enrico and Birdie finally got together. I kept waiting for her to actually make a move and seize the moment to be with him and it never happened. And then we found out that he had gone back home to Texas. And I was had figured that the story would take a different turn then. But, she went to Texas to see him and I got hopeful again AND HE HAD A GIRL IN HIS LAP WHEN SHE GOT THERE. I was so upset and felt terrible for Birdie. And she went back home without talking to him. I’m not going to lie, I teared up. I was rooting for them and at every turn something else happened. I was so shocked when he turned up in the end. It was super cute and hit me right in the feels. SO ADORABLE.

But as much as I loved Birdie and Enrico…..I loved Murphy and Rex more. THEY WERE SO GOOD TOGETHER. I felt really bad for Leeda and I didn’t really see them actually getting together until almost the end but then I realized that it was going to happen and it made me really happy. Rex and what Leeda needed to gain a bit of confidence and as she even said, he felt like a big brother and I’m glad they had that. But they both knew they weren’t going anywhere romantically. I’m very glad that Leeda and Murphy remained friends and that Rex and Murphy got to be together. I hope we actually get to see them be in a relationship in the next book.

I hate that Leeda didn’t get a summer love. She ended up on her own and that makes me really sad. However, I’m glad she had that nice moment with her sister in the end and that things seemed a little better for them. I wish things had gotten better with her mom as well but sadly they didn’t. I really hope Leeda is able to find love in the next book.

I can’t wait to start the second book, The Secrets of Peaches which is exactly what I’m about to go do. I’ve come to really love these characters and can’t wait to see what else takes place at the Darlington family Orchard!


Image result for my favorite part:

My favorite part was definitely when Murphy told Leeda’s mom off on page 207. As I mentioned above, I cheered her on the entire time. I loved this scene not only because Murphy was sticking up for Leeda and being a real friend and finally saying the things Leeda’s mom needed to hear, but because it started the first real sparks between Rex and Murphy. It was a really powerful scene and I enjoyed it immensely.


Image result for quotes logo

I again can’t narrow my favorite quote to just one. There were two really great lines in this book that just really resonated with me and I can’t choose between them. But, they were really short lines so it’s okay to share two….right?

The first takes place right off the bat on page 5 when we were in Murphy’s POV. Nobody spoke this line but I really loved it anyway.

“It made her think about how she couldn’t believe how big the universe was, but how small it was for her.”

And the second, takes place on page 157. This was one of the many times the girls snuck down to the lake. This time we were in Leeda’s POV and this was another line that wasn’t actually spoken but again, I really loved it.

“The moment slipped away, but because it wasn’t perfect, it was the most perfect one she could remember having.”


Image result for my rating

Image result for 4 stars


 

And those were all my thoughts and feels about Peaches!

What did you think about this book? Who was your favorite character and who’s POV did you prefer? Do you look forward to reading the rest of the series? Have you read any other books by Jodi Lynn Anderson? Any quotes that really resonated with you? Where do you think the series will go from here?

Leave me a comment with all your thoughts and feels!


Thank you so much for reading and I hope you keep visiting!!

Katie.jpg

Follow me!

Goodreads

Instagram

Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Leave a Reply

